Back to All Events

Electing New Deacons @ FBC

On April 23, 2017, immediately following the worship service, First Baptist Church members will be asked to submit the names of six church members you believe would serve the church well as deacons. Nominees, as well as those nominating, must be full members of FBC. A copy of the current FBC directory is available in the Library and in the Narthex.

This selection of deacons is to fill terms ending in 2017, 2018, and 2019.  A ballot will be provided in the Sunday worship folder on April 23. Absentee voting is permitted by sending your nominations to FBC by regular mail in a sealed envelope with your signature over the seal, or by email to  Absentee nominations must be received by 4 p.m. on Friday, April 21, 2017.

Individuals not eligible for election as new deacons:

Deacons currently completing their term of service: Jean Bell, Paul Clark, Stan Hastey, Rob Marus and Janice Osborn.

Deacons currently serving terms of service ending in 2018 and 2019:  Zena Aldridge, Rod Coates; Mike Henson; Kate Campbell; Sadye Doxie; Erik Smith; Rose Smith.

Life Deacons:  Mel Doxie, Adrian Harward, Steve Netcott, and Ellen Parkhurst.

After worship on April 23, the Deacon Selection Committee, composed of Rod Coates, Rob Marus and Janice Osborn will tally all nominations and begin reaching out to nominees, beginning with those who received the highest number of nominations.

Earlier Event: March 26
Parents and Teachers Gathering
Later Event: May 21
Youth Sunday